The Cayman Islands and Belgium have officially signed a tax information exchange agreement, reports the Caribbean Journal.

Cayman Financial Services Minister Wayne Panton and Belgian Ambassador Godelieve Van den Bergh signed the agreement last week at the Government Administration Building in Grand Cayman.

The tax information exchange agreement is the 35th into which the Cayman Islands has entered. It provides for the exchange of information for tax purposes upon request between the two countries.

Among those attending the signing were Director , Department of Financial Services Policy and Legislation, Michelle Bahadur; Director, Department of International Tax Cooperation (DITC), Duncan Nicol; Councillor, Ministry of Financial Services, Roy McTaggart, MLA; the Ministry’s Chief Officer Dr Dax Basdeo, and Deputy Chief Officer Tamara Ebanks; and DITC’s Assistant Director Iain Blackwell.

The Cayman Islands has signed a number of such agreements in the last few years alone.